About me…

imageI suppose I should start by sharing a little about myself. My name is Nolan and I’m 44. I’ve recently become a single father of two amazing girls. I’m just living my life and trying to do the best for them.

Just like anyone else, I’ve had many life experiences. Some were great and others were not so great.

I’ve toured the UK with a singer, songwriter named Shea Seger. There were five of us in a van for three weeks. The tour started in Edinburgh, Scotland and ended in London. It was amazing!

Then there was my transcontinental motorcycle ride from Viginia Beach, Virginia to Kamloops, British Columbia to Death Valley and back! Stops in the Tetons, Yellowstone, Canadian Rockies, Oregon coast, Yosemite, The Grand Canyon and many other places in between all made that a mind blowing trip. Again, amazing!

And I can’t leave out the births of my two amazing daughters, Lyra and Kyla. By far, they have been the greatest accomplishment of my life!

Then back in 2013, I was diagnosed with a movement disorder called Dystonia. I’ll admit that it was a long time coming. I had started experiencing symptoms years before that. It was little things at first. I started having trouble playing the drums, primarily holding onto the drumstick in my right hand. Being a percussionist and instructor, it became a frustrating experience. I eventually stopped playing altogether. And I retired from teaching.

Then as time went on, I began having trouble holding pens. It felt like I didn’t know how to hold a pen. They felt like foreign objects. They kept falling out of my hand as I would write. Eventually, my writing started to deteriorate. My oldest daughter can now write better than I can. And my youngest is better at coloring than me. Staying in the lines is long gone!

I began to teach myself to write left handed. My neurologists warned me that there was a good chance my Dystonia would travel to the other hand. It did. And as the next few years went by, my dystonia progressed to my legs as well. Thankfully, it appears to have stabilized.

It was during the time, attempting to diagnose what it was that was causing me all this frustration, that I took up running again. Β Running has opened up new and amazing opportunities. But I’ll save that for another time.

If you met me on the street, you would never suspect that I had this movement disorder called Dystonia. It may not always be active. But if you look close enough and get to know me. You’ll see it. It is always there.

thanks

 

 

Leave a Reply

